Member Login Donate to ALF Nominate a Fellow
    Events | Video | Calendar

Upcoming Events

July 1, 2021
July 28, 2021 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
August 5, 2021
August 5, 2021 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
August 25, 2021 @ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

ALF Video

fa-calendar Events Calendar

Exemplary Leaders Awards Dinner

 2021 Exemplary Leaders Awards Dinner 

The ALF-MVC board of directors is excited to announce our 2021 Exemplary Leader Honorees: 

    Cassandra Jennings (Class III)

    President & CEO

    Greater Sacramento Urban League







    Arlen Orchard (Class XV)

    General Manager and Chief Executive Officer









    Christina Kazhe (Class XII) 


    Kazhe Law Group, P.C






 Friday, October 8, 2021

5:30 pm Reception

6:30 pm Dinner & Program

9:00 pm Close


Hyatt Regency Sacramento

1209 L Street

Sacramento, CA 95814















 Capital Public Radio

Five Star Bank 

Lucas Public Affairs

PRIDE Industries 

Principal Financial Group

Sierra Health Foundation



University of the Pacific 







Funds raised by the nonprofit ALF-MVC will be used to support ALF programs and to provide scholarships to ensure diverse representation from communities across the region.

The Internal Revenue Service recognizes ALF-MVC as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, tax ID no. 91-1792774.   

Previous Honorees (with titles at time of award)

2019: David Hosley Ph.D., Vice Chancellor, UC Merced (Ret.); Garry Maisel, President & CEO, Western Health Advantage; and Cassandra Pye, Founder/CEO, 3.14 Communications

2018: Congresswoman Doris Matsui, U.S. Representative for California's Sixth Congressional District; Daniel Hahn, Chief of Police, Sacramento Police Department; Faith Whitmore, CEO, Sacramento Regional Family Justice Center

2017: Basim Elkarra, Executive Director, Council on American-Islamic Relations- Sacramento; Lial Jones, Mort and Marcy Friedman Executive Director, Crocker Art Museum; Patrick Mulvaney, Executive Chef, Mulvaney's B&L

2016: 20th Anniversary- founders, Sr. Fellows, and sponsors

2015: Kathy McKim, Vice President, External Affairs, AT&T; and Christopher Cabaldon, Mayor, City of West Sacramento

2014: Joe Genshlea, Attorney, Genshlea Law; Susan Frazier, Consultant/Community Leader; and Kevin Johnson, Mayor, City of Sacramento

2013: Brice Harris, Chancellor, California Community Colleges; Larry Vanderhoef, Chancellor Emeritus, University of California, Davis

2012: Vicki Barber, El Dorado County Superintendent of Schools; Joe Coomes, Sacramento Attorney; and Tom Stallard, Woodland City Councilmember & Former Yolo County Supervisor

2011:  Scott Syphax, President & CEO, The Nehemiah Companies
2010:  Fred Teichert, Executive Director, Teichert Foundation 
2009:  Pat Fong Kushida, CEO, Sacramento Asian Pacific Chamber of Commerce 
2008:  Darrell Steinberg, incoming Calif. State Senate President pro tem 
2007:  Allen Warren, President & CEO, New Faze Development, Inc. 
2006:  Dennis H. Mangers, President, California Cable & Telecommunications Assn. 
2005:  Muriel Johnson, Supervisor, County of Sacramento 
2004:  William H. Lee, Publisher, The Observer Newspapers 
2003:  Michael Ziegler, President & CEO, PRIDE Industries 
2002:  Lina Fat, Executive Chef, California Fats 
2001:  Robert T. Matsui, Representative, US House of Representatives 
2000:  Donald Gerth, President, California State University, Sacramento; Joe Serna, Jr., Mayor, City of Sacramento (posthumous) 
1999:  Sandy Smoley, Secretary, California Health & Human Services Agency 

  Previous award winners Michael Ziegler, Sandy Smoley,
   Dr. William H. Lee, Lina Fat, and Dr. Donald Gerth.

American Leadership Forum - Mountain Valley Chapter
Copyright © 2019 American Leadership Forum - Mountain Valley | Privacy
601 University Avenue, Suite 127, Sacramento, CA 95825 • Phone 916-920-5669 • Fax 916-920-5675 • Email